Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tech

Gmail Gets ‘External’ Label to Identify Emails With Recipients From Outside Your Google Workspace Organization

Gmail Gets ‘External’ Label to Identify Emails With Recipients From Outside Your Google Workspace Organization
credit: ndtv

Google is adding an “External” label to recognize email threads/ conversations that comprise recipients from outside of a user’s Google Workspace organization. This is done to identify emails that are sent to or by people who are not part of your organization. The new badge begins in addition to the current warning banner that appears before responding to emails sent from outside of your organization. Google says these alerts not only help Gmail users avoid unintentional replies but also evoke them to treat external messages and related data with caution.

As per a blog post by Google, an orange “External” label will be visible in the subject line of all such emails. The rollout of the new feature began for Gmail for Web and Android users on April 29 and will arrive for iOS users later. It will be available to all Google Workspace as well as G Suite Basic and Business customers.

The “External” banner is a combined word of warning. Currently, an unintended external reply warning appears in Gmail that reminds users of communicating with recipients who are not a part of their organization. A related feature is also available in Microsoft Outlook in which the platform notifies the users that an “email has been generated from outside organization”. But Microsoft does not provide a Google-like “External” banner to identify such emails from the subject line.

While the new Gmail label is turned on by default, administrators can turn the extra warning off. “As an administrator, you can turn on alerts for messages that include external recipients,” the company explains(https://support.google.com/a/answer/7380041).

Here are the steps to alter the ‘external’ recipients warning.

  1. Sign in to the Google Admin console using the administrator account.
  2. From the Admin console Home page, go to Apps > Google Workspace > Gmail > End User Access.
  3. Select your top-level organization, and scroll to the Warn about external recipients setting.
  4. Check or uncheck the box to turn the warning on or off, and click Save.

Google says that it takes up to 24 hours for these alert settings to show to all users in an organization.

Content Protection by DMCA.com
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like

Apps

Facebook is establishing a smartwatch that will serve as a controller for its forthcoming augmented-reality projects. Records declared the gadget was due for launch...

News

Apple’s latest version, iOS 15, allows users to host the application multiple times on the home screen. The ability to have multiple copies of...

News

One of the most common ways for attackers to try to steal some of your personal information is to use information-stealing programs. This is...

News

Google has been ruling as a default search engine for a long time, but other competing search engines may now call themselves the default...