Duolingo is a free app that tells basic language skills to users of all backgrounds. With so many languages to choose from, it’s no surprise that this is such a popular app for people all over the world. Having said that, you may decide that it is time to permanently delete your Duolingo account.
Furthermore, if you’re acting as executor on behalf of a deceased loved one, you may need to close someone else’s Duolingo account. Fortunately, you can delete your account or a loved one’s account in a few simple steps.
How to Delete Duolingo Account
This Complete guide shows you how to delete Duolingo account permanently, whether you have a free or paid plan. One of the most important aspects of preparing for your digital afterlife is keeping track of your accounts.
To delete your account and personal information, go to the Duolingo Drive-Thru and choose “Erase Personal Data” (the big red button at the bottom of that page).
You can also request deletion through the Duolingo for iOS app. Open the app, then go to the Profile tab and tap on the Settings icon. Then, at the bottom of the page, click ‘Delete Account.’
Duolingo will then send you an email to the email address associated with your account to confirm this deletion request. You must click on the link in the email message to confirm that you want your account deleted.
Your account will be deactivated and you will no longer be able to login once you click the confirmation link. If you change your mind, you will have a 7-day grace period.
The confirmation email contains a link that allows you to cancel the erasure process. You can only reactivate your account using the provided link; you cannot login otherwise.
This action cannot be reversed once it has been completed. You will receive another email from us once the erasure has been completed. This affects your entire Duolingo account, including Duolingo for Schools.
Note: Please be aware that deleting your account will not suspend charges if you are a Duolingo Plus subscriber via the mobile apps (Android or iOS), as these are managed by Apple or Google.